top of page

Sweet Heart


September 22, 2016

Ok, so I have these boots - thigh high, black suede, thick heel, with bows on the back - they are so sexy. I've been wearing them around the house, like every girl does, with gym shorts and a tank, and I've noticed they fit terribly. They kinda fall down my leg, my ankle slips on the right foot, and they are too thigh high for a shortie like me.

But they're so sexy. So I'm stuck in this limbo . . .

A) I return the boots because they aren't the right fit.

B) I keep them because they are good enough.

If I keep them, every time I wear them I'll be tugging them up and sweating in my thick socks because I have to keep my heel in, never mind the fact that I'll have zero leg cleavage if I wear them with a dress. If I return them then I am boot-less. If I return them I am no longer the owner of thigh high sexy bow in the back stiletto boots. AND, then I obviously have to go through the exhausting process of replacing them.

So, do I settle for mediocre?

Or do I go out on a limb, return the angelic boots,

and be without them until I find the absolute perfect pair for me?

 

July 22, 2017

The Story

 

August 8, 2017

Three glasses of wine in, let's see how this goes . . .

Tonight I made myself dinner. I cut the mushrooms, I seasoned the sauce, I poured much wine, and I even used a REAL plate! I haven't done something like this in over a year. Not because I don't have the time or the patience, but because I thought it was unnecessary. It's just me, why would I go out of my way? But that's exactly it, that's the mindset that has been holding me back for too long . . .

It's not JUST ME.

As women we are lovers and caretakers. In the past I have put every ounce of energy I've had into my relationships with barely anything in return. I've felt beaten down and depleted of energy as my very reasonable expectations aren't realized.

And then I met you, que the forth glass of wine.

My God you have changed my life.

It's not JUST me, it's ME.

You've shown me in such a short time what I deserve. This has nothing to do with fancy dinners or extravagance, rather it has everything to do with how you treat me, and that is like gold.

And so I challenge all of you: don't settle.

Find the man who reminds you of your worth,

the one who reinvigorates your spirit,

and the one who would, as mom would say,

"move heaven and earth to be with you".

 

October 22, 2017

Three months ago I was pacing in my sisters kitchen before my date with “this pharmacist guy from Boston.” Ninety days later and you have become my best friend and the absolute love of my life.

Every day I thank God for bringing you into my life, your love is an incredible blessing and I feel so humbled and proud to have you. Thank you for warming my heart and feeding my spirit, for loving me unconditionally and without fear.

In a world where time is finite and goodness is hard to come by,

it is a true privilege to have a partner like you.

I love you to Syracuse, Boston, Ontario, Costa Rica and back again Javee.

Happy Nat and Jav Day.

 

November 12, 2017

Javee,

It is an honor to be able to call you my partner. Your kindness, passion for life, and unconditional love have changed me for the better. Every moment with you is a moment in paradise. I’m in love with absolutely every part of you and am forever grateful for your presence in my life. My best friend, my adventure buddy, the love of my life, thank you for making every day magical.

Forever and ever sweetie.

 

December 17, 2018

Love of my Life (noun):

The most significant.

The most profound.

The most impactful.

Simply, the Most.

You are a love without bounds,

not rooted in convenience or conditions, but rather in genuine care and admiration.

You are a love full of kindness and sharing,

obligation becomes obsolete as gratuity and humility move in.

You are a love that touches the soul,

with every laugh, every kiss, and every word I am changed.

One that I’ve never known before, one that I didn’t know I was missing,

but since having it, one I could never live without.

 

January 16, 2018

I call you sweetheart not as a pet name,

but because you are actually one of the sweetest hearts I have ever encountered . . .

It’s easy for me to tell you how much I love you and what you do for me, but I think what matters even more than that is how you make others feel. Your smile lights up a room, your love for life makes people feel alive, your passions are so directed and your aim to achieve them is beyond accurate.

You remind others that change is okay, maybe even joyful. You inspire them to live beyond titles and responsibilities, to reach for a life outside of societal constructs and follow every dream they have ever dreamt. And you do all of this with an open heart, never belittling or causing harm, never with negative intentions.

Thank you for bringing light to the world,

for showing everyone you encounter what it means to live with dignity and purpose.

Thank you for being a good person, a truly sweet heart.

 

January 22, 2018

"If you're not careful, you'll get lost here

and find that where you end up is better than

where you had planned to go”

 

. . . Stay Tuned


bottom of page